mycookiefactory

Big, big, baking day

Posted on: November 11, 2010

What a great day to decide to start writing a blog about baking cookies.

I sure have plenty to write about.

My day started something like this: Around 9:30 am my husband announces that he needs ‘something nice’ to bring to a meeting for work.  This meeting includes around 25 people and he needs it by 5pm as he’s working the night shift that night. Okay, great! I just received two amazing baking books I recently ordered and I was itching to try out some new recipes. Both these books, by the way, are absolute gems for anyone who enjoys baking cookies, bars and brownies! Then I all of a sudden remembered that I promised to bring desert to a family dinner tomorrow, but that was okay, because my 2.5 year old had already promised himself yesterday that he was going to ‘bake cookies’ with mommy. Basically, this means that I bake and he samples all the ingredients. Apart from when we do rolled sugar cookies. He’s not bad with a cookie cutter and sprinkles for a little fella his age! No problem, I would bake hubby’s goodies in morning when above mentioned little fella was at daycare and I would bake cookies in the afternoon which could double as desert for the family dinner. Everything under control! The only issue in this scenario was that it left me precious little time to get any of my work done (I work online from home) but I would make up for it some other time.

Now unfortunately I broke my camera, so I have no pictures of this morning’s results, but I can guarantee everything just like the pictures I found that’s connected to the book (Taste of Home Cookies) I used! I baked fudgy brownies with chopped walnuts inside

Fudge Brownies

and chocolate chips on top and gingery pear bars on a crumble cookie base. Both left the house with a corner missing 🙂

Pear Bar Cookies

 

For the cookies I decided to go with Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book and went for the Chocolate Crinkles and Chocolate Mint Sandwich Cookies, which I suspect will come out looking like the picture below.

Both these recipes require for the dough to chill in the fridge overnight (clever little trick of mom to divide the work over 2 days 😉 ), so tomorrow we’ll happily continue and hopefully I will find a way to take some end result pics!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Baked and eaten

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Cookies by Category

